8888677771 | PU polls: 9 in fray for president’s post, 4 each for other 3 posts | Chandigarh News

The Panjab University on Friday released the final list of candidates in the fray for the Panjab University Campus Students’ Council (PUCSC) elections which are to be held on September 6.

Nine candidates are contesting for the post of president, and for the posts of vice-president, secretary and joint secretary, four candidates each are contesting. In at least 40 departments of the PU, 58 departmental representatives (DRs) have been elected unopposed and there will be elections for 68 positions of DRs in the remaining 29 departments.

Section 144 of CrPC has been imposed throughout the city banning the students’ car rallies and canvassing has been allowed in a group of five people on the campus. The polling will be held at 179 booths in various departments. There are 15,693 students at PU.

On Friday, the Indian National Students Organisation (INSO) backed by Haryana’s Jannayak Janta party, Student Organisation of India (SOI) backed by Sriomani Akali Dal (SAD) and Himachal Pradesh Students Union (HPSU) formed an alliance to contest the elections.

The National Students Union of India, student wing of Indian National Congress, decided to go it alone and will contest only for the post of president. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), a student wing of the RSS, formed its alliance with Panjab University Helping Hands (PUHH). Ours is an alliance for progressive developement and student welfare at the university, said ABVP unit president Rajat Puri. The candidates of the alliance will be Rakesh Deshwal for the post of president. Rakesh Deshwal is currently pursuing LLM from UILS dept. The general secretary candidate will be Avinash Yadav, who is currently pursuing MTech from UIET Dept. Gourav Chahal will be the joint secretary candidate. He is currently pursuing BTech from UIET department.

Most Read

Masaba Gupta says people thought father Vivian Richards left her ‘hundreds of crores’, so she didn’t need to work
Twinkle Khanna recalls mom Dimple Kapadia asked her and Akshay Kumar to live-in for two years before getting married: ‘If you make it, then…’

The Chhatar Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS), a student outfit of AAP, formed its alliance with Himachal Students Union (HIMSU).

Last year, INSO had contested the students body elections in alliance with CYSS and won the post of general secretary. The CYSS had won the president post. Aayush Khatkar of CYSS had won the president post by securing 2,712 votes. Pravesh Bishnoi of INSO was elected to the post of general secretary by getting 4,275 votes last year.
SSP (UT) Kanwardeep Kaur held a meeting with PU officials at campus on Friday. SSP Kanwardeep Kaur also interacted with student leaders and appealed them to maintain peace, and not indugle in the hooligansim during the elections.

Presidential candidates

Divyanah Thakur is the candidate for the president’s post of CYSS-HIMSU alliance. Yuvraj is the candidate for the president post of INSO-SOI-HPSU alliance. Rakesh Deshwal is the candidate for the president post of ABVP-PUHH alliance. Jatinder Singh is the candidate for the president post of NSUI.

If you want to register your marriage in thane visit : https://marriageregistrationthane.com/court-marriage-registration-in-thane

Source link

Our Branches in Maharashtra

Our Blogs